Deutsch  ·  English   ·  Française   ·  Русский   ·  العربية

Old City Hall Bonn


The Old City Hall, centrally located directly on Bonn’s Marktplatz Square, was built by an electoral master builder from 1737 to 1738 in the Baroque style, but not fully completed until 1780.


Even Germans who have not yet been able to view this sight in person will recognize the impressive gilded stairway: when Bonn was the capital of the nation, this stair often provided a dignified backdrop for important historical events, such as the addresses given by important politicians like Theodor Heuss, Charles de Gaulle, John F. Kennedy, Mikhail Gorbachev.

A long-overdue renovation of this representative building—so important for Bonn—was undertaken in 2010. The € 4.4 million construction project was financed by the economic stimulus programme Konjunkturpaket II and donations from the association Verein Altes Rathaus.
In addition to replacing the technical amenities and renovating the facade and roof, the windows of the building were renovated. The ornamental front of the City Hall sports seven window axes.
The windows were of course renovated on the inside as well.
So it was only natural to commission WAND & RAUM in conjunction with the architectural firm Rittmannsberger to create the new window dressing, not least on account of our  broad general understanding of fabrics in historic buildings, but above all because of the experience we gained in the Baroque Augustusburg Palace in Brühl.

Wand & Raum is honoured to have furnished the decorations for the Tapestry Room, the Star Room, the Lord Mayor’s Room and the fraction rooms of the parties CDU and FDP.

Legal Notice

De  ·  En   ·  Fr   ·  Ru   ·  Ar

Altes Rathaus Bonn


Das Alte Rathaus, zentral direkt am Marktplatz gelegen, wurde von einem kurfürstlichen Baumeister 1737 bis 1738 im barocken Stil erbaut, jedoch erst um 1780 vollständig fertiggestellt.

 

Auch Bundesbürgern, die diese Sehenswürdigkeit noch nicht persönlich in Augenschein nehmen konnten, wird der Blick auf die imposante vergoldete Freitreppe bekannt sein - war sie doch zu Zeiten der alten Bundeshauptstadt Bonn oftmals eine würdige Kulisse für historisch bedeutsame Ereignisse (Ansprachen hoher Politiker wie Theodor Heuß, Charles de Gaulle, John F. Kennedy, Michail Gorbatschow….)

 

Eine lange fällige Sanierung des für Bonn so wichtigen repräsentativen Gebäudes wurde Im Jahr 2010 in Angriff genommen. Die 4,4 Millionen teure Baumaßnahme wird durch das Konjunkturpaket II und durch Spenden des Vereins Altes Rathaus finanziert.
Neben der Erneuerung von Technik und der Sanierung von Fassade und Dach werden die Fenster des Gebäudes renoviert. Die Schmuckseite des Rathauses zieren immerhin sieben Fensterachsen.
Natürlich erfahren die Fenster auch von innen eine Überarbeitung.
Da lag es nahe, die Firma WAND & RAUM in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Architekturbüro Rittmannsberger mit der Gestaltung des neuen Fensterkleides zu beauftragen, nicht zuletzt aufgrund  genereller Kenntnisse von Stoffen in historischen Bauobjekten, vor allem jedoch aufgrund der gewonnenen Erfahrung beim ebenfalls im barocken Stil gehaltenen Schloss Augustusburg in Brühl.

 

Wand & Raum schätzt sich geehrt, den Gobelinsaal, das Sternzimmer, das Bürgermeisterzimmer sowie die Fraktionsräume von CDU und FDP mit Dekorationen ausgestattet zu haben.
Impressum